

The new energy infused in the Association of Marshall Scholars ("AMS") by former president Ted Leinbaugh during 2006 and 2007 continued to flourish into 2008. During this time, a number of organizational improvements were implemented: An expanded board of directors and slate of officers were elected, a set of new and active committees of the board were established, a new AMS mission statement was adopted, and an annual solicitation of dues and contributions has been implemented. Additional organizational improvements are underway, such as an AMS webpage, an enhanced database, and a communications plan to keep members informed about board actions, special events and new initiatives.



HMA Sir Nigel Sheinwald graciously welcomes the Association of Marshall Scholars to his official residence in Washington, DC for the May 2008 annual



Justice Stephen Breyer, Marshall Class of 1959, addresses his fellow Marshall Scholars and guests in May

The AMS has been applying its organizational strength to pursue its mission, which is as follows:

The Association of Marshall Scholars fosters personal and professional relationships among Marshall Scholars, supports and publicizes the aims of the Marshall Scholarship Program, and enhances the experience of Marshall Scholars studying in the United Kingdom, thereby strengthening the enduring relationship between the United Kingdom and the United States.

In furtherance of this mission, in the last twelve months the AMS has organized a number of regional and national events to bring Marshalls together. These events have been offered free of charge and have typically combined great company with one or more speakers on topics of current interest. Events have been held at Yale Law School, Goldman Sachs in New York, the Boston Consulate, the University of

North Carolina and Atlanta, among other places. Often the events have included new or scholars and have served as a helpful introduction of the new and current into the larger community of Marshall Scholars.

The AMS is also committed to enhancing the experience of the current scholars. Contributions to the AMS in excess of annual dues are being collected in a "special programs fund," the income of which is being used to provide "extras" for the current scholars.

This progress is the work of many people, more than can be recognized in this report. However, special recognition is appropriate for Ted Leinbaugh's heroic efforts during his two-year term as President. We also are most grateful to Bob Gray for taking a leadership role in the process of recruiting and launching the expanded board of directors. Finally, our progress would not have been possible without the advice and support of the Marshall Aid Commemoration Committee, the British Embassy and the various British Consulates. Special thanks go to Dominic Martin who has been "shoulder to shoulder" with the board and officers during the past two years, and we wish Dominic well in his new position in Paris.

Among the rewards of serving as directors of AMS is the opportunity to meet and work with many Marshall Scholars and Commissioners of the Marshall Aid Commemorative Commission during the course of the year. We look forward to working with you as we continue our partnership during the coming year.



Dominic Martin speaks to the AMS annual meeting participants after being recognized as an honorary Marshall Scholar by AMS board chairman W. N. Harrell Smith.

Association of Marshall Scholars Board of Directors

W. N. Harrell Smith, Chairman William Coquillette, President Stephen DeBerry, Vice President Laura Gardner, Vice President Theodore Leinbaugh, Vice President Andrew Klaber, Secretary Sandra Pinnavaia, Treasurer

Jason Bordoff Annina Burns Mary Edgerton Stephen Gudeman Alison Jenkins Bryan Leach Jeff Modisett Warwick Sabin Bryan Schwartz Kannon Shanmugam Benjamin Spencer Frank Trumbower Rein Uritam Marisa Van Saanen Aisha Williams Daniel Yergin